The town of Corning was established in 1852 and was known for its rich farming soil due to its proximity to the Chemung River. The town is named after Erastus Corning, a financier. It consists of five boroughs: East Corning, Morrcrest, Gibson and the Villages of Riverside and South Corning. River travelers and lumbermen would often stop in Gibson as they traveled along The Erie feeder canal. Railroads soon after became an important means of transportation, which led to stations being built in what is now known as Gibson, and also one in East Corning. Soon hotels, mills and blacksmith shops were opened throughout the surrounding area. Today, In historic downtown Corning, the streets of the Gaffer District are lined with antique shops, restaurants, glass-making studios and specialty stores. The town hosts events and festivals each year, including GlassFest, Jazz & Harvest Fest and the seasonally themed Crystal City Christmas. A number of trails or self-guided tours are geared toward specific interests. Indulge your sweet tooth with the decadent treats on the Chocolate Trail, or discover priceless collectibles on the Antique Trail.